My Tribute to e.e.cummings

Standard

e.e. cummings has been my favorite poet since I discovered him when I was a teenager.  I love the free-form way he wrote, completely disregarding the rules of punctuation and using words like an artist uses paint.  His writing style has been a great influence to me in my own writing.

Here is one of my favorite poems of his, entitled “i like my body”:

i like my body when it is with your
body. It is so quite a new thing.
Muscles better and nerves more.
i like your body. i like what it does,
i like its hows. i like to feel the spine
of your body and its bones, and the trembling
-firm-smooth ness and which i will
again and again and again
kiss, i like kissing this and that of you,
i like, slowly stroking, the shocking fuzz
of your electric fur, and what-is-it comes
        over parting flesh . . . . And eyes big Love crumbs,                                                

 and possibly i like the thrill of under me you quite so new

And here is a great quote from e.e. cummings:

“To be nobody but yourself in a world
which is doing its best day and night to make you like
everybody else means to fight the hardest battle
which any human being can fight and never stop fighting.”  

Leave a Reply

