Best Fiction Novels of 2012

Standard

One goal I aim to achieve every single year is writing down the name of every book that I read over the year.  I really don’t know why it’s been impossible for me to do this!!  I always start off well, with good intentions but soon enough the list is abandoned, never to be completed.  Well, I thought I would do the searching for you and share some lists of books that other people have determined were the “best” for 2012.

Best Fiction Books from 2012 according to Wall Street Journal”

1.  The People of Forever Are Not Afraid by Shani Boianjiu

2.  Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

3.  A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava

4.  Earth and Air by Peter Dickinson

5.  Absolution by Patrick Flanery

6.  The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson

7.  The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura

8.  John Saturnall’s Feast by Lawrence Norfolk

9.  NW by Zadie Smith

10.  At Last by Edward St. Aubyn

In reading the reviews of these books, I noticed a general theme among them.  They all (or most) appear to have very complex, challenging plots.  They tend to be set in foreign countries.  Has anyone read any of these books?  I regularly read up on new books being released, but I haven’t heard of or seen a single one of these books.

In vast comparison to the WSJ’s list is Amazon’s best books for 2012.  Most of these are by popular authors, many who’ve written numerous previous books (e.g. Janet Evanovich, Patrician Cornwell).  I’m only including a few on this list.

1.  Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick

2.  The Tehran Initiative by Joel Rosenberg

3.  The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

4.  The Marriage Plot: A Novel by Jefferey Eugenides

5.  Damned by Chuck Palahniuk

6.  1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

Amazon’s list makes me wonder where WSJ got their list from…I’ve heard of almost all of the books or authors on the Amazon list and in fact have read many of those books.  In comparison to the complex novels on the WSJ list, I think the Amazon ones tend to be more easier-to-read or easier to understand novels, less complex, and more “popular.”  In other words, perhaps more appealing to the average lay reader.  Or maybe like going to McDonald’s for food in comparison to a gourmet French restaurant?

So, would anyone like to offer any reviews, comments or ideas about these “best” books of 2012?  Or perhaps post a list of your own? 

I’m going to set a goal of trying to recall at least some of the books I read over the year and try to post a list here… In the meantime, I guess now would be a great time to start my list for 2013!

Leave a Reply

