Quote for Today

Standard

I was reading some Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Sherlock Holmes) and absolutely loved these lines, from The Sign of the Four:

My mind rebels at stagnation.  Give me problems, give me work, give me the most abstruse cryptogram or the most intricate analysis, and I am in my own proper atmosphere.  But I abhor the dull routine of existence.  I crave mental exaltation.”

I am a huge fan of Conan Doyle/Sherlock Holmes.  In fact, I just started reading a new historical fiction book called Locked Rooms by Laurie R. King which is narrated from the perspective of Holmes’ wife, Mary Russell.  A very unique approach, the first book I’ve seen written from her perspective.  Hopefully it will not disappoint!

Leave a Reply

