Follow Up to previous post

Standard

As an addedum to my previous post, I also wanted to mention that in Brown’s book Daring Greatly she includes a “Wholehearted Parenting Manifesto.”  She shares a portion of it in the Oprah magazine article.  Here it is:

“Above all else, I want you to know that you are loved and loveable.  you will learn this from my words and actions… You will learn that you are worthy of love, belonging, and joy every time you see me practice self-comparssion and embrace my own imperfections…. We will laugh and sing and dance and create.  We will always have permission to be ourselves with each other.  No matter what, you will always belong here.  As you begin your Wholehearted journey, the greatest gift that I can give to you is to live and love with my whole heart and to dare greatly.”

Love this!  But maybe we should all challenge each other to write our own unique and special one for our children.  We can share it with them, maybe even hang it on our fridge like Oprah suggests.  To remind them of how we feel and how much we love them every day.

Leave a Reply

